February 27, 2010

This was the first day I just about said screw it.  By the time I realized I hadn’t taken a picture yet it was 10:30.  I was doing my exercises, not something I could just stop and go grab the camera during.  By the time I had finished, cooled down and relaxed a bit it was 12am… already tomorrow.  My first instinct was to say forget it.  But I thought about the commitment I had made to this project and to exercising.

On monday I started P90X.  If you spend late nights watching television you’ve probably seen the infomercial.  There are those incredible before and after pictures where people go from flabby to ripped.  I’ve been in good shape most of my life, but after 3 kids and a few intense years, I’m not as fit as I once was.  So after a lot of consideration I bought the program and committed to 90 days of intense workouts.  In this past week I’ve wanted to give up a few times.  I’ve considered going to bed instead of pressing play.  Then I think about the results I want and the only way to get them is to be consistent.  So I keep pressing play, even though  I don’t always want to.  By the end of the workout I am exhausted and my muscles are sore, but I haven’t once regretted doing it.

So last night, when I considered going to bed instead of taking a photo, I remembered my commitment.  I may not always want to do it, but sometimes you just have to push past that resistance and do it anyway.  So that’s what I did.

I went outside in my workout gear.  I scanned the sky and found the moon.  Snapped a few photos and was glad I did.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “February 27, 2010

  1. Zanna

    Beautiful! And I absolutely love the story.

  2. kalisisrising

    I’m glad you did too, beautiful!

  3. Good for you!!!! Go go go!!!

    For me, it’s so much easier to get my workout OVER WITH in the morning and the later it gets the harder it is to make myself.

    I’m so proud of you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

